A 40th Birthday….Miami VIP Style

The goal was to decorate a penthouse suite in a luxury hotel for a VIP birthday without spending a lot of money and without there actually being a party.  My cousin was turning 40 years of age and wanted to celebrate in style.  She had a whole weekend bash planned and, to my surprise, did not want any of the weekend’s festivities to be in the actual suite itself.  Yet, she wanted to feel as if it was her birthday weekend whenever she was in the room.  As if that wasn’t challenge enough, the hotel was almost 3,000 miles away from our home in the amazingly sensual city of Miami.  Now this may seem like a pointless endeavor, but an excuse to finally visit Miami and do one of my favorite things (party plan and decorate) made this a no brainer.

 

My first challenge was to pick the décor keeping in mind that whatever we purchased or used would have to be able to be transported on the plane and we all know the rules on luggage.  Also we wanted to keep it simple.  I mean, after all, it wasn’t for an actual party.  It was to just to give an already amazingly furnished suite, a party vibe.  Considering the distance and the fact that I would not be able to see anything until we arrived for the 5 day vacation, I had to live on the internet.  I am pretty confident I became addicted to the virtual tour option offered on the hotel website.  It was to the point that when I arrived at the suite I was sure I had been there before.  Oh and I must give a grande shout out to YouTube for facilitating the celebrity oneabies that created  make-shift “Cribs”  allowing me another visual perspective of the suite.  I definitely recommend these visual options when the venue cannot be scouting before the event.  I am not sure how the professionals do it, but I absolutely must see the decorating space before I can know what I want to do with it.  I was also fortunate enough that  I found everything I needed via internet, including an amazing company, Décor For A Day, that provided me with candle holders and apothecary jars for a minimalist candy bar  and hotels that allowed us to ship items directly to their site so the items would  be there waiting for us.

In the end, it all came together and fell within a very small budget.

The color scheme was white, cream, and chocolate which I now realize, as I type, sounds like an amazing dessert.  The balloons and lanterns were very easy to transport.  The delicious cupcakes were brought to us by a company in Miami called Teatime cakes.  The only items I had to purchase in Miami were the helium tank  and the aforementioned glassware.  I was very satisfied with the final product and the guest of honor was so happy, it made it all the more enjoyable.

Budget:  Not Set

Total Spent:  Approximately $140

Big Ticket Items:  Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

