A Wonderland In Winter

IMG_0785

Traditionalist is what comes to mind when I think about Christmas decorations and well, my overall design aesthetic.  Call me old fashioned, but with all of the new advancements in technology and our environment, I like to keep some things old school. The typical greens and reds suit me just fine for this festive occasion.  So one would think when my close friend Nathalie (not a typo) asked me to help turn her home into a winter wonderland using white and silver as the color palate, I would be adamantly against it.  Well, that was not the case.  I was insanely excited.  She wanted it to look like a blizzard went through her living room and I was eager to take on the challenge.  I couldn’t wait to use those colors and fortunately for me,  that color combination was pretty popular this season.

IMG_0813

IMG_0779

IMG_0861

The first thought in my head was snowflakes every where and being on a limited budget, having access to a machine that cuts shapes, and several sheets of white card stock, I knew exactly how I was going to achieve that.  Between my never-ending fishing wire and my Cricut, I was able to hang around 50 snowflakes for  less than $5.  It may not be the pricey, shimmering, hard plastic (or whatever material is used) snowflakes you see in Bloomingdales, but as you can see one can still achieve that frosty look for a (real) fraction of the cost.  I also added tissue paper pom poms to add fluff the mix (How-To video coming soon).

IMG_0762

IMG_0837-001

IMG_0908

Ikea, became my best friend for this project.  It was like the store rearranged itself to help me achieve my decorating goal on a tight budget.  I was able to buy two 50 piece silver ornament sets for only $9.99 each.  For the white ornaments, I used both the 99 Cents Only stores and Michael’s (always with my 40-50% off coupons in hand).  I had some leftover feathers from my aunt’s 50th which added more white and uniqueness to the tree.  As a finishing touch to the tree, I called on my Cricut again to make various shape ornaments.  It was just an experiment, but shockingly the paper ornaments look really cool in the tree and in my opinion not the least bit tacky ( that was my fear).

IMG_0899 IMG_0827-002

I switched out the dark burgundy curtains for the Ikea “quick fix” sheer white curtains for only $4.99 a pair which changed the look of the room in the instant they were put up (Open this link in new tab to see the before picture).  To compensate for the fact that we could not indulge our fantasies of chenille throws and plush white faux fur rugs, I opted for Ikea’s $3.99 throws which just so happened to have ends cut in such a manner that they appear like snow at the edge of a rooftop (jackpot!) and also I used $1.99 bath mats on the floor to appear like little snow puddles.  I created a mini North Pole scene, per request, using a packing cylinder on which Nat dutifully painted the silver stripe (the key was to buy the cylinder in white).  A white balloon served as the bulb top, a poster board for the sign base, and of course my Cricut made the pretty letters.

IMG_0800

IMG_0811

IMG_0741

IMG_0702

One of my favorite  pieces was this crepe paper rose wreath, a true labor of love.  The how-to video will be coming soon.

IMG_0787-002

This $6 wreath, slightly deviated from the color scheme, but the gorgeous rustic door could not be overshadowed.  I just kept it simple and rustic using a $2 frame from Michael’s.  I actually collected the pine cones from the the ground, spray painted them slightly to keep some of the natural look and made little rosettes using ribbon.  The vases (see first image at top of page) were from my home and previously red, but with a lot of spray paint and willow branches I fell in love with this front door.

Overall, I must say this was one of my most favorite and time consuming projects.  It almost made me reconsider the colors I will use for my own Christmas decorating…almost.

7 thoughts on “A Wonderland In Winter

    • I know, isn’t it the best door ever! This question has been brought up before and my friend (owner of the home) does not remember where it was purchased (long story). The home is located in the Los Angeles area so that is a start. If I am able to locate the source I will post it immediately. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

