A Crafty Valentine’s

In the middle of one of my brief and rare moments of relaxation, I began to reflect upon the up and coming Valentine’s Day.  I thought about how, thanks to my mother, I have always loved the holiday.  I especially loved it when I was single; often using it as an excuse to spoil myself.  I never had any anxiety if I wasn’t going to be the recipient of one of the many marketed items of the holiday.  I never gave a second thought to when I walked past school lockers, or past rooms in the dorms or even at my co-workers’ lab benches when they were covered in chocolates, roses, and etc if I was empty handed.  Because, while I was happy for those lucky girls (and eventually ladies), I knew I always had the best Valentine ever, my mom.  Every Valentine’s Day, she would leave a gift on the kitchen counter for us in the morning giving us the best start to a fun holiday and that feeling stuck with me throughout my life.  I don’t know if it was nostalgia that brought on the idea, or my son’s incessant begging for his birthday party (which is not until the summer) but I wanted to do some type of kiddie Valentine’s Day celebration.

Now, I have finally learned my limitations after being a mother of two so keeping it simple was a must so I decided on a small craft party with only desserts to keep the little ones happy.

IMG_9245-002

Somewhere  between Google searching and Pinterest, I came up with three craft options for the party and several desserts that would satisfy anyone’s sweet tooth.  A trip to the 99 cents Only Store, Target’s “dollar section”, and the market and voila a craft party is born.

IMG_9247-001

I made a finished sample of each craft so the kids and there parents would have a model to copy.  At the time of this picture, I hadn’t completed the heart-shaped bird so I used the printout that I made in anticipation of limited time.  The first is a butterfly made from paper towel rolls I cut in half.  I am sorry, but I am too much of a germaphobe to use toilet paper rolls.  I painted them myself so I did not have to bring out the paint for the kids.  The second craft is a cute bird made from heart shapes.  Finally, the traditional, Valentine’s day card.  I cut out heart shapes on the front side of card stock and folded the paper in half to add a little more excitement to the card.

The desserts were my favorite part  and one of the driving forces behind my events.  I had way more desserts than necessary, but honestly I don’t think there could ever be too much of anything edible.

IMG_9234-003

 

IMG_9235-001

These sugar cookies were actually the easiest since I had frozen dough left over from Christmas.  I used Pomegranate juice to create the pink color and for the hearts, just drop a dot of icing and take a toothpick and drag it through the circle from top to bottom and a heart appears.

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_9237-002

These were my absolute favorite, caramel apple pie pops.  Now the original recipe is for hand pies, but I saw heart-shaped pie pops on Pinterest and thought why not try it this way.  The best part was that I prepared them two days ahead and on party day just threw them in the oven frozen about two hours before the party started.  I swear freezing them first made them even better than the first time I had them as regular hand pies.  Oh and I make my own caramel sauce and just let it chill so it hardens a bit.  The recipes says to use store bought caramels…I refuse!

 

 

 

 

IMG_9241-001

Yummmm, Strawberry Buttermilk cupcakes!  These were my favorite cupcake of the three.  I just switched out the cherries for strawberries in the original recipe and the blackberries for strawberries in the frosting of another one of my pins.

IMG_9240-001

Finally there was “red” velvet (I use the term loosely since my attempt to be organic with the coloring yielded a pinkish brown color instead) which is my own twist on several recipes I have found, yellow cupcake, courtesy of my America’s Test kitchen book, with whipped chocolate ganache and browned butter rice krispie treats dipped in a chocolate ganache.  Let’s just say I wasn’t concerned with the lbs on this day.

It turned out so awesome that I forgot to take pictures of the kids enjoying the crafts and treats.  I honestly think some of the parents enjoyed the crafting more.  I am definitely going to make this an annual event!

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Crafty Valentine’s

Leave a Reply

