The 5 things I’ve Learned From Moving In With The In-Laws…..So Far

My husband and I decided to sell our home and temporarily move our family in with his parents.   Being a fairly level headed individual, I knew there would be a multitude of sacrifices especially with a 7 month old and 3 year old in tow.  But I have to admit there were several aspects that I just didn’t comprehend until I was already in motion which brings me to the five things that I have learned:

1.  Downsizing is a must

O.k., go into your closet and take out a few pairs of clothing that you know you should throw out or donate.  Now do that about 10 more times and then  you might just have an idea of amount of clothing you should take with you.  Don’t worry, you don’t have to give it all away, some of that can go into storage for when you obtain  you own dream walk-in closet, but not even half can go with you.   Seriously!

2.  Prepare to have to visit your storage facility a few times

A friend warned me of this one, but of course I didn’t listen.  This goes along with item one.  Since you can’t bring all of your clothes and other things you may need at some point,  be sure to pack them in the front of your storage facility so you don’t find yourself clawing through boxes for hours desperately looking for the warm weather clothing you packed away.

IMG_0958

3.  Fold Like A Salesperson

Yes, more on clothes, because I had some major delusions on what I was going to be able to fit into our new surroundings.  If you don’t have as much space to hang items, learn how to fold in a manner that will maximize use of space.  A perfect example is the perfectly folded sweaters on those tables in a clothing store.

IMG_0957

3.  Get used to creative storage

I preemptively planned for this one.  We sold nearly all of our furniture along with our house and I mean come on, we could not bring any dressers with us anyway so where would all of our stuff go.  For my sons, I brought the toy storage rack and now, instead of holding toys, it has cute little t-shirts, shorts, and undies.  The night stands in our room have become a cabinet and a dress all in one.  There is no separation of items either.  The drawer that holds my notebook for any late night ideas I want to jot down also holds my jewelry and nail polish.

4.  Learn the grocery clerks name.

I go to the grocery store so often now, they started giving me free stuff (bonus!).  I haven’t learned their names yet, but I am sure that is next.  Since we share a fridge,  bulk shopping is a thing of the past.  The bonus is that if you forget something, it’s not as big of a deal since you know you’ll be back in a day or two.

5.  Be thankful for all of the inconveniences

Though I catch myself rolling my eyes every once in a while for the inconveniences I have to experience not having my own home, I have to remind myself how fortunate we are to have been given the opportunity to sell our own and not live on the street.

 

 

 

One thought on “The 5 things I’ve Learned From Moving In With The In-Laws…..So Far

Leave a Reply

