Molasses Molasses

IMG_7579

That sticky icky goo is not just for your grandma’s gingerbread.  Turns out, it can help you in a bind.  Yesterday I had a craving for sweets as usual and, since I had some delicious Ghirardelli chocolate chips in the pantry, I knew chocolate chip cookies were going to have to be my poison (ooh bad analogy for food).  When I was finally able to start baking, I realized I was out of brown sugar.  I literally screamed out loud since my taste buds had already began preparation for the scrumptious cookies and there was nearly melted butter sitting  at room temperature on my countertop.  I scanned my brain for ideas until I realized there was no need to waste time since there is the internet (I know, sad).  Well what popped up immediately as a response to my “replacement for brown sugar” query…molasses!  I didn’t even have to open a link.  It was right there on the search page; just replace the exact volume with regular granulated sugar and for every cup replaced by granulated sugar you then add 2 Tablespoons of molasses.  To put it plainly, if the recipe calls for 1 cup of brown sugar, you use 1 cup of granulated sugar and 2 T of molasses.  I must insert credit to myself as I considered molasses before headed to the internet.  I apologize for gloating but I was just so proud.  It’s one of those moments where you are like, hey maybe I am really a baker.

IMG_7581

I baked the cookies and they turned out delicious.  What’s more is that you don’t even taste the molasses and the cookies were so soft and moist (I used the recipe on the chip bag).  I am now debating if I should even buy brown sugar before my molasses runs out.  I mean I have lots of sugar, why spend money if there is no true need.  It is good to know that my “use what you have” motto can apply to baking.  Yum

IMG_7591

One thought on “Molasses Molasses

Leave a Reply

